Review of the Stampin’ Up! Envelope Punch Board- Wow!

It’s here! The brand NEW Envelope Punch Board from Stampin’ Up! has arrived.  Here is a photo provided from Stampin’ Up! of this lovely new tool.  It is available for order starting September 1, 2013.

b1_EnvelopePunch_demo_aug1513_NA

Now of course I am partial to Stampin’ Up! products because I love them and I know the rigorous quality control that their products go through before they hit the market.  I can’t say the same for the other brand.  Let me give you an example.
I went to the craft store while in a bind and bought TomBow adhesive tape runner.  It looks exactly like our Snail adhesive, so I figured it would work just fine.  Wrong, I made a card and the pieces just would not stick. By the time I got home from the event, the card has fallen apart.  Lesson learned- Stampin’ Up! products go through extensive testing and quality checking to make sure that they will last a long time.

So here’s the skinny.

Pros:

  • Lightweight
  • Compact
  • Comes with scoring tool (bone folder)
  • Contains 66 measurements to fit card sizes
  • Scores card stock and Designer Series Paper easily
  • Has a built in corner rounder punch

Cons:

  • Must score lightly when using DSP or it cuts through the paper
  • Bottom flap is higher than the sides

Overall comments:

I would love to give a perfect review, but I figured in order to be fair I would point out the things that I found when using this new tool.  I love that it is lightweight, smaller than the paper trimmer and can make nearly any envelope size (with a chart included on the board).  It’s great- I love the corner rounder on the flip side.  The only downside would be that I am heavy handed and when I scored the DSP i cut through the paper, so I lightened up and made adorable envelopes.  So remember, don’t press to hard when you score- use medium pressure.  Also, if it bothers you that the bottom flap is poking up when you make larger envelopes, just trim it straight across for a quick fix.  There you have it- a full review.

On another note, I want to mention that some of you may have seen an envelope maker available on Amazon or another like website, but I encourage you to order it from your Stampin’ Up Demonstrator because he/she can show you tons of ways to use it that you wouldn’t have thought of on your own. Also, this is a business to most of us, and it is important to support local and home businesses- it’s the same price regardless of where you buy it, so support a Demo, we really appreciate your business!!
If you choose to order your Envelope Punch Board through me, I will send you a special tutorial on how to make other projects with the punch board- you can’t get that from Amazon!!

I have also included a little video demonstrating how to use this new Envelope Punch Board tool.  I just love it, I really do.  Here’s the tutorial.

I hope this review has been helpful to you! Happy Crafting!!

3 thoughts on “Review of the Stampin’ Up! Envelope Punch Board- Wow!

  1. Pingback: Stamp of the Month- September | Stampin' Fool

  2. Hi, The Tombow adhesive and Stampin’ Up! Snail adhesive are both made by Tombow. SU has always sold Tombow, but has changed the label on their Snail to their logo. Tombow also has a temporary adhesive runner, so perhaps that is the one you’d used? One thing I’ve discovered in comparing the two adhesive runners is that Tombow has more yardage to the one they sell through the craft stores than SU’s tape runner.

    • I have bought TomBow from the craft store when in a bind to use as refill’s in my tape runner, but the adhesive did not stick as well (even the permanent). It may have more yardage, but it must not go through the same quality control that Stampin’ Up! Snail does. I found that the objects kept popping off of my page!

Something to share? Leave a comment :)

